On artist copyrights

I was reading a newsletter, innocently passing some time on my smartphone, I thought. I stumbled across a link to copyright information for visual artists. Well it seems I have been doing it all wrong.

According to the US Patent Office, visual artists should copyright or patent each piece of visual art before publishing it or making it viewable to the general public. This includes blogs, Facebook, etc, not just art shows and the old fashioned art shows. For pieces of art that have been already published, they suggest wiling at least two copies with the patent office.  I have to go back and read more closely as to the fees involved in this. I also will post a link as to what I found.

I wonder is anyone else out there following this process??

Leave a Reply

