Who I am…

Life as Art... and a bit of nonsense...

UndercoverCat©2015CRLaing

.

I am closer to death than I am to birth…
and still, I don’t know who I am…
During daylight hours I pretend to be me…
but under the covers at night, doubts fill my mind…
Dreams of second guesses and forgotten successes…
mix with flights of fancy, and horrible messes…
I toss and turn, waiting for sleep to save me…
only to find my mind never forgave me…
Deep beneath the tattered tangled blankets…
I try to find me, the one I haven’t met yet…
But every event, every thought, every action…
changes me from one moment to the next…
Each a tiny death, becomes a birth, a resurrection…
Then morning comes, and I am more tired than awake…
and still, I am who I am… rediscovered…
at least for one more day…
Is there any other way?

.

.


Words and image by Cicely Robin Laing ©2015

View original post

Leave a Reply

